Experienced DWI Lawyer in San Antonio
A DWI arrest can come out of nowhere. One minute you’re enjoying a few drinks with friends and the next you’re behind bars. Even though you didn’t intend to harm anyone, these are very serious charges that carry stiff penalties in the state of Texas. You could be facing fines, jail time, license suspension, and probation. If you have a prior DWI on your record, the penalties increase significantly. To defend yourself from maximum sentencing, you need the help of an experienced San Antonio DWI lawyer.
At THE Cabanas Law Firm, we’ve been representing individuals charged with drunk driving since 2007. Our intimate knowledge of Texas DWI and DUI laws combined with our courtroom experience allows us to form a legal defense suitable to the circumstances of your case. Contact us at (210) 446-4090 to learn more.
DWI vs DUI Charges
On the surface, driving while intoxicated (DWI) and driving under the influence (DUI) seem interchangeable. However, there are some key differences you should know. In Texas, a person will be charged with a DWI if they’re caught driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher. They may also be under the influence of a controlled substance. DWIs are considered Class B misdemeanors.
The primary difference between and DWI and DUI is the age of the driver. A person under the age of 21 will be charged with a DUI if they’re caught driving under the influence of any type of intoxicating agent. This could be drugs or alcohol. They don’t necessarily have to have a BAC level of 0.08% or higher. Showing physical signs of impairment is all an officer needs to arrest a minor for DUI. Regardless of what you’ve been charged with, you need a skilled criminal defense attorney to protect your rights.
DWI Penalties in the State of Texas
Like many other states, Texas comes down hard on DWI offenders. A conviction could lead to costly fines and major inconveniences to your daily routine. That’s why you need the Cabanas Law Firm in your corner. We’ll fight hard to get your punishment reduced. For a first-time DWI charge, these penalties may include:
- A maximum fine of $2,000
- Driver’s license suspension for up to one year
- Anywhere from three to 180 days in jail
- License reinstatement fees of up to $2,000 a year for three years
For multiple DWI charges, the penalties increase drastically each time. A second offense carries :
- A maximum fine of $4,000
- Driver’s license suspension for up to two years
- Anywhere from one month to one year in jail
- License reinstatement fees for three years.
After a third DWI conviction, you could face potential prison time and extensive fines. Other offenses such as driving while intoxicated with a child in the car and driving with a BAC of 0.15% or higher carry severe penalties. You need to retain an experienced DWI attorney in San Antonio to represent you in court and work to get the charges reduced or dropped.
Contact a Highly Skilled DWI and DUI Lawyer
After a drunk driving charge, you may feel like your future is at stake. Yes, these are very serious charges, but eventually you’ll see the light at the end of the tunnel. At the Cabanas Law Firm, we can help you move on from the event. We have an intimate knowledge of Texas DWI and DUI laws along with years of experience helping individuals navigate the legal process. We’ll work hard to have the charges against you reduced so you can get your life back on track. Contact us in San Antonio at (210) 446-4090 to set up a consultation.